Does Your Workers’ Comp Pay for Lost Wages?
When it comes to workplace accidents and injuries, many workers are left wondering if they are eligible for workers’ compensation benefits. Workers’ compensation is a type of insurance designed to provide financial support for employees injured or who become ill as a result of their job. In this blog, we’ll take a look at the requirements for workers’ compensation, how it is calculated, and some exemptions in the state of Texas.
Workers’ Compensation Requirements
Workers’ compensation is available to employees who are injured or become ill as a result of their job. In order to be eligible for workers’ compensation, employees must meet certain requirements.
First, the employee must be an employee of the company, not an independent contractor. Second, the injury or illness must have occurred in the course of the employee’s job duties. Third, the injury or illness must be reported to the employer within a specific time frame. Lastly, the injury or illness must be verified by a doctor or other medical professional.
Once these requirements are met, the employee can then file a workers’ compensation claim. The claim will then be reviewed by the state’s workers’ compensation board, and if approved, the employee will receive benefits to cover medical expenses, lost wages, and other expenses related to the injury or illness.
How Is Workers’ Comp Calculated?
Once a workers’ compensation claim is approved, the employee is eligible to receive benefits. The amount of benefits an employee receives is based on several factors, including the severity of the injury or illness and the number of lost wages.
The number of lost wages will be determined by the employee’s average weekly pay. This is calculated by taking the employee’s total earnings for the last four weeks prior to the injury or illness divided by four. The employee’s weekly wage will then be multiplied by the number of weeks they are unable to work due to injury or illness.
For example, if an employee was earning $600 per week and was unable to work for four weeks due to their injury or illness, they would be eligible to receive $2400 in lost wages. In addition to lost wages, employees may also be eligible to receive other benefits, such as medical expenses, disability benefits, and death benefits.
Workers’ Comp Exemptions in Texas
In the state of Texas, there are several exemptions to the workers’ compensation laws. For example, certain employers are not required to provide workers’ compensation, such as employers with fewer than five employees or employers in specific industries, such as domestic service or farming. In addition, certain types of employees are exempt from workers’ compensation, such as volunteers or independent contractors.
Finally, certain types of injuries or illnesses are not covered by workers’ compensation, such as self-inflicted injuries or injuries that occur while the employee is under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
Get the Best Workers’ Compensation Insurance with Massive Insurance
At Massive Insurance, we understand the importance of having a secure and reliable workers’ compensation policy in place. Our experienced team of knowledgeable agents can help you find the best policy for your needs. Contact us today to learn more about how we can help you protect your business and your employees.