Understanding The California Paid Sick Leave Act
The California Paid Sick Leave Act was just passed and business owners throughout the state are now responsible for following new rules and regulations. The size of your business is not a factor, ensuring all employees receive the compensation they deserve through sick days. Gathered is all the must-know information about the new California Paid Sick Leave Act so that you can make sure you are properly protecting your employees:
- The California Paid Sick Leave Act guarantees that all California workers who work at least 30 days with a company within a year receive up to three days of paid sick leave.
- Despite common belief, both part time and full time employees are eligible to receive these benefits, as long as they have worked for the same employer for 90 days.
- To ensure that all business owners comply, you will now be required to list paid sick leave on employees’ pay stubs.
- There are two options available to you: You can either give employees three paid sick days upfront to be utilized within a year, or allow employees to accrue one hour of paid sick leave for every 30 hours of work.
- Through the California Paid Sick Leave Act, employees cannot be penalized for using their paid sick days. They cannot have their hours cut or be fired for using their deserving sick time. In fact, there is a 30 day period after an employee uses one of their sick days in which the employer is legally prohibited from firing the employee, unless they can provide evidence for another reason to take disciplinary rule.
Contact Massive Insurance in Pasadena for all of your California business insurance needs. Please do not hesitate to give us a call if you would like to increase the limits of your existing business insurance coverage.